August 2012
New PACU Officers and Board of Trustees Installed; MU President, Dr. Karen Belina F. de Leon, elected First Vice President

The Chair of the Senate Committee on Education Arts and Culture, Senator Edgardo J. Angara, installed the newly elected Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities [PACU] Officers and Board of Trustees on August 24, 2012, 4:30 in the afternoon at Oakwood Premier Joy-Nostalg Lounge Center Manila, 17 ADB Avenue, Ortigas Center, Pasig City. PACU is the oldest educational organization in the Philippines representing 185 private higher education institutions (HEIs).

Dr. De Leon

The Induction Ceremony was preceded by a Dialogue on the “State of the Proposed K-12 Basic Education Program in the Senate of the Philippine”. PACU speaks as private higher education voice in matters of public policy and provides vital programs, information and forum for dialogue on key issues. To recall, Senator Angara pushed for the structural reforms in education and authored two major bills: The Early Years Act and the Kindergarten Act. He also underscored the restructuring of the Basic Education system in the Philippines; the K-12 curriculum which aims to improve capacity for innovation by producing more capable graduates whose education conforms to international standards.

(from left to right) Dr. Tamayo, Dr. Lagunda, Senator Angara, Dr. De Leon, Prof. Rodas, Dr. Enriquez

An invocation started the ceremony led by Rev. Fr. Gregorio L. Bañaga, Jr. CM, President of Adamson University. Immediate Past President Mr. Peter P. Laurel, President of Lyceum of the Philippines University-Batangas warmly welcomed everyone. Dr. Vicente K. Fabella, President, Jose Rizal University introduced the Guest of Honor and conducted the dialogue on K+12. The closing remarks was delivered by the newly installed PACU President, Dr. Patricia B. Lagunda, President of Baliuag University. This new set of officers will serve until 2014. The affair was also graced by Hon. Rosenda Ann M. Ocampo, Acting Chair, Committee on Basic Education and Culture-House of Representatives.

(from left to right) Dr. Tamayo (Treasurer), Atty. Tirol (VP for Visayas), Mr. Laurel (VP for Luzon), Dr. Fabella (VP for NCR), Dr. Lagunda (President), Sen. Edgardo J. Angara, Congresswoman Rosenda Ann M. Ocampo, Dr. De Leon (First VP), Prof. Rodas (Second VP), Dr. Enriquez (Secretary), Atty. Juarez (VP for Mindanao)

Further, Misamis University is proud on the election of Dr. Karen Belina F. De Leon as the First Vice President of PACU.

The new set of officers and board of trustees are as follow:

Dr. Patricia B. Lagunda - President
Dr. Karen Belina F. De Leon - First Vice President
Prof. Dhanna Kerina B. Rodas - Second Vice President
Dr. Caroline Marian S. Enriquez - Secretary
Mr. Anthony Jose M. Tamayo - Treasurer

Greater Manila Area Luzon
Dr. Vicente K. Fabella
Regional Vice President for NCR
Jose Rizal University
Mr. Peter P. Laurel
Regional Vice President for Luzon
Lyceum of the Philippines University
Rev. Fr. Gregorio L. Bañaga, Jr., CM
Adamson University
Dr. Patrica B. Lagunda
Baliuag University
Dr. Ma. Cristina D. Padolina
Centro Escolar University
Mrs. Naila E. Leveriza
Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation
Dr. Lydia B. Echauz
Far Eastern University
Fr. Jessie M. Hechanova, CICM
Saint Louis University
Dr. Reynaldo B. Vea
Mapua Institute of Technology
Prof. Dhanna Kerina B. Rodas
University of Baguio
Dr. Caroline Marian S. Enriquez
Our Lady of Fatima University
Mr. Anthony Jose M. Tamayo
University of Perpetual Help
Dr. Francisco B. Benitez
Philippine Women’s University
Dr. Ester A. Garcia
University of the East
Fr. Herminio V. Dagohoy, OP
University of Santo Tomas

Visayas Mindanao
Atty. Victoriano B. Tirol, Jr.
Regional Vice President for Visayas
University of Bohol
Atty. Casimiro B. Juarez, Jr.
Regional Vice President for Mindanao
Capitol University
Atty. Augusto W. Go
University of Cebu
Dr. Karen Belina F. De Leon
Misamis University
Dr. Chito B. Salazar
University of Iloilo
Dr. Evelyn A. Magno
Rizal Memorial Colleges
Hon. Eduardo R. Gullas
University of the Visayas
Dr. Guillermo P. Torres, Jr.
University of Mindanao

Dr. Amelou B. Reyes

Philippine Women’s College of Davao

Representative to PEAC



Nelpa N. Capio - Asst. Quality Management Representative / Misamis University

Misamis University
© Misamis University HT Feliciano Street, Ozamiz City MSC 7200 Philippines
Phone: +6388 521 0367 | Fax: +6388 521 2917
Total Visitors: